Support The Clean Energy Jobs Bill

The Clean Energy Jobs Bill, SB 557, passed out of the Senate Environment and Natural Resources on Wednesday, and was recommended by that committee to move to the Senate Rules committee.
As a formality, all Senate bills must go to the Senate President’s desk after they leave their first committee, to be ‘referred’ by the President. Usually bills pass along without any conflict, but President Courtney decided to hold SB 557. We weren’t sure why.
Unfortunately, the President’s office sent SB 557 to  the Senate Business and Transportation committee. This is interpreted as a move to kill the bill. The bill sponsor Senator Beyer sits on that committee, but there’s nothing he can do.
BUT – there is also a House bill under consideration (HB 2135).  This was last session’s Healthy Climate Bill. We knew the Senate would be tough, and President Courtney has never been a friend of the environmental.  House Energy and Environment Committee Chair Helm has agreed to amend HB 2135 so it now mirrors SB 557.
HB 2135 has a work session to vote it out of committee on Monday at 3:00 pm. The impression is that Chair Helm and the committee members will refer it to the House Rules committee, which is the perfect place for it to get worked on (we have some amendments in the works to improve it still further) while we continue educating and organizing our legislators and people across the state.

The Oregon House Energy and Environment Committee will be holding a Work Session on Monday April 17 at 3:00 pm.  The bill must still be voted and recommended ‘Do Pass’ before April 18th to have any chance.  This is our moment!  Note that Southern Oregon Climate Champion Pam Marsh is now on this committee as a substitute for a representative with an indisposed family member.

Please contact each of the following House Committee members and urge them to support HB2135.

Start by pointing out that as members of this committee, they represent all Oregon residents, not just their constituents.

The proposal would limit climate pollution from the state’s largest polluters, invest in clean renewable energy, support dislocated workers, assist economically disadvantaged communities such as rural Oregon.

House Committee on Energy and Environment

Chair Representative Ken Helm
D Distrct 34 Washington County
Vice-Chair Representative Mark Johnson 5
R – Distrct 52 Hood River
Vice-Chair Representative Karin Power
D Distruct 41 Milwaukie
Member Representative Phil Barnhart
D District 11 Central Lane and Lin  Counties
Member Representative Cliff Bentz
R District 6 Ontario
Member Representative Paul Holvey
D Distrct 8 Eugene
Member Representative Pam Marsh
D Distrct 5 Ashland
Member Representative E. Werner Reschke
R Distrct 56 – Klamath Falls
Member Representative David Brock Smith
R- District 1 – Port Orford

Senate Committee on Environment and Natural Resources

Chair Senator Michael Dembrow
D – Portland 503-986-1723
Vice-Chair Senator Alan Olsen
R – Canby N of Salem  503-986-1720
Member Senator Herman Baertschiger Jr.
R – Senate District 2 – Josephine County 503-986-1702
Member Senator Floyd Prozanski
D – Douglas/Lane Counties 503-986-1704
Member Senator Arnie Roblan
D – Coos County 503-986-1705

Please also contact District 3 Senator, Alan DeBoer: 503-986-1703


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *