Southern Oregon Candidate Interviews

Although Southern Oregon Climate Action Now doesn’t have the capacity to endorse candidates, we are interested and able to provide Southern Oregonians with an opportunity to learn where candidates stand on climate and environmental issues. Under normal circumstances, we achieve this through scheduling a candidate forum for each of the categories. In the era of COVID-19, we have elected to achieve this educational purpose by inviting each candidate in the list below to participate in an interview over a prescribed set of questions which are identical for every candidate competing for that position. In this case, all candidates for the state legislature are provided the same questions while all candidates for the respective Boards of County Commissioners are provided the same questions (but different from the legislative candidates question set).  The following candidates, representing all those competing in the designated races, were invited to participate. The videos of the interviews are now available, identifiable as names with live links.

To find your current state rep and district, visit the Oregon Legislative Look-up

Jackson County Board of Commissioners Position 2 Candidate Questions 2020

Jackson & Josephine County State Legislature Candidate Questions 2020

Curry County (Coastal SOCAN) Legislature Candidate Questions 2020

Oregon Senate Races
Senate District 1
All  Curry, southern Coos, southern Douglas, western Josephine, and northwestern Jackson Counties
Kat Stone (D) Dallas Heard (R)
Senate District 2
Eastern Josephine and west central Jackson County
Jerry Allen (D) Art Robinson (R)
Senate District 28

All Crook and Klamath Counties, parts of Deschutes, Jackson, and Lake Counties

Hugh Palcic (D) Dennis Linthicum (R)
Oregon House Races
House District 1
All Curry County, parts of Coos, Douglas and Josephine Counties
Calla Felicity (D) David Brock Smith (R)
House District 3
Part of Josephine County
Jerry Morgan (D) Lily Morgan (R)
House District 4
Portions of Jackson & Josephine Counties
Mary Middleton (D) Duane Stark (R)
House District 5
Southern and western Jackson County
Pam Marsh (D) Sandra Abercrombie (R)
House District 6
Most of Medford
Alberto Enriquez (D) Kim Wallan (R)
House District 55
Northeastern Jackson, Klamath, Lake, Crook, Deschutes (not Bend) Counties
Barbara Fontaine (D) Vikki Breese-Iverson (R)
County Board of Commission Races
Jackson County, Position 2 Terrie Martin (D) Dave Dotterrer (R)
Josephine County, Position 2 Dan DeYoung (Nonpartisan) Ron Smith (Nonpartisan)

Curry County and Josephine County Position 3 Board of Commissioner elections were resolved in the May Primaries.